Beauty

Eggs, Beer & Bardot (Or, How To Cheaply Make Your Hair Shiny & Soft)

Obviously we all want Bardot hair. Here's how!

Obviously we all want Bardot hair. Here’s how!
Photo Credit: purepeople.com

I recently had my hair done for an exorbitant amount of money at a salon.

(If my stylist from Big Cuts in Brooklyn on Montague Street is reading this I’m really sorry. Please don’t shave my head “accidentally” next time I come see you).

I seriously thought about offering to be a hair washer to offset the price I was charged. I envisioned myself in a leopard print smock up to my elbows in suds. That is until I caught a glimpse of what voodoo magic had been done to my hair.

Hot. Damn.

I had been turned into a glasses wearing, less-scripted, season-one Lauren Conrad. The treatment that I loved was a hair mask that was to help blend and seal the new highlights into my base color. The thick cream made my follicles tingle and my eyes burn from all the chemicals, but, ladies, the glisten and volume was awesomesauce.

I decided I had to try to recreate this at home–not only to avoid exposing myself to the cocktail of chemicals, but to save money. I mean, I couldn’t buy my jumbo-sized chocolate bar for class later after my appointment. Not OK. The most unusual, and favorite, attempt I tried is below:

  • 1/ ½ cup Flat beer
  • 2/ 1 tsp of oil
  • 3/ 1 egg

Mix all of this together, massage through your hair and wrap your locks in saran wrap. Wait 15 minutes before you rinse it out. The beer leaves behind yeast once it evaporates, helping to give your hair a pick-me-uP. The oil locks in the moisture and protein from the egg.

Now is the easy part: drink the rest of that beer.

Want to join the discussion? Luna Luna encourages well-reasoned, thoughtful, useful, civil, constructive, respectful and intellectual dialogue. That said, we're not into name-calling or bullying or character attacks. Violating comments will be deleted. Please read the post thoroughly and try not to make assumptions about the writer's perspective. Let's start talking!

