Beauty

Ruby Red: How To Make Homemade Lipstick

Pouty lips should be draped in a self-made color.

Pouty lips should be draped in a self-made color.

Oh, baby. Pout those lips for me because that color is fierce! I kiss a square of toilet paper and Vogue through my apartment.

I love lipstick. I don’t nearly wear enough of it, and I’m trying to forceably will my collection of mere three tubes into into this season’s colorful offering by Sula. With pale skin and blue eyes I tend to gravitate towards the pinkish-oranges or bluer-reds. My biggest complaint about the factory-made color is how fast they fade and how they make my lips feel like an abandoned desert.

Not only are the ingredients in lipstick kind of scary, but I can never find my perfect red. What is a DIYer to do but combine all the best recipe advice and create her own? I gathered the following four ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. cocoa butter*
  • 1 tsp. coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. beeswax
  • 3 drops of Red cake icing color

First I melted the beeswax, then added the coconut oil and cocoa butter to the mixture until warmed. I created a double boiler by placing a glass jar over a boiling pot of water. It would have worked better if I had a glass bowl that fit perfectly onto of the pot, but I had to work with what was in my cabinets. I heated these guys up until liquid smooth.

Then I kept adding drops of red food coloring until I was happy with the shade. I transferred the warm concoction to a round plastic container and allowed it to harden at room temperature overnight.

The next morning you should be able to pout those lips in the mirror and give your best over-the-shoulder glance as you enter the world one shade happier.

*One thing I did not do, but should have, was to add a bit more cocoa butter. I love super moisturizing lipstick!

4 thoughts on “Ruby Red: How To Make Homemade Lipstick

  1. Pingback: DIY Nail Art Tools That Are In Your House Right Now |

  2. Pingback: 5 Whisk(e)y Cocktail Recipes For a Grand New Year’s Celebration |

  3. Pingback: VIDEO: How To Make Ruby Red Lipstick (At Your House!) |

Want to join the discussion? Luna Luna encourages well-reasoned, thoughtful, useful, civil, constructive, respectful and intellectual dialogue. That said, we're not into name-calling or bullying or character attacks. Violating comments will be deleted. Please read the post thoroughly and try not to make assumptions about the writer's perspective. Let's start talking!

