Beauty / Staff Picks

GLAMGLOW Mud: I Look Like A Botticelli Painting

My darling friend Laura (also web editor here at Luna Luna) gave me the best birthday present: a BENEFIT Makeup tin can of makeup goodies–mascara, Coralista lip balm and more. In the tin was a little surprise packet, that, if you knew Laura, you’d suspect was actually a magnum silver condom. Wrong. It was a little packet of the originally GLAMGLOW mud mask.

GLAMGLOW: The muddy bits stick to your skin, causing a sort of facial paralysis (in a good way).

GLAMGLOW: The muddy bits stick to your skin, causing a sort of facial paralysis (in a good way). Also, please forgive the super creepy eyebrow / Victorian death daguerrotype face.

The packet tries to sell itself on the idea that the mask was “developed for backstage” celebrities–people who need a glow before an event. However, for $69 us normal folk can attain the same glow, courtesy of the Mediterranean sea, volcanic clay, calendula, cucumber and other goodies. The packet said, “tingles.” I thought, oh, like mint.

UM, NO: the volcanic ash really seems to come to life here. For the first 30 seconds, my face flushed, became violently hot and burned into a caked mask. I was thinking, am I having a reaction, but because I’m desperately curious about everything to a fault, I let it be. The mask was tightening every pore on my face. I could not smile. I could not wink.

GLAMGLOW MUD

After GLAMGLOW: No makeup, no filter, just actually radiant skin. No powder, no weird lighting. REALNESS.

When I washed it off, my skin truly, truly was different–and not $1.29 cent CVS mask different. Not “good moisturizer” different. My skin, though the photo barely reveals this, is glowing. My t-zones are a bit blushed, the pores are much smaller, the skin is tighter, softer and surprisingly moist. There is an overall Botticelli effect happening, and that is exactly why I will continue to use this product.

Pardon the website’s cheesy, somewhat robotic, anti-natural, Hollywood feel.

Every Botticelli girl uses GLAMGLOW

Every Botticelli girl uses GLAMGLOW

The product description reads: 
Designed as a 10-minute professional ‘facial in a jar’ for behind-the-scenes use in Hollywood’s Entertainment, Music, Fashion & Award industries, for immediate camera- ready glowing skin. GLAMGLOW’s mud base is from the South of France Mediterranean Sea, home to glamorous Cannes, St. Tropez & Monaco. GLAMGLOW’s moisturizing collagen synthesis is for both men & women. Use a couple of times a week or simply when you need GLAM-tastic™ skin.

Want to join the discussion? Luna Luna encourages well-reasoned, thoughtful, useful, civil, constructive, respectful and intellectual dialogue. That said, we're not into name-calling or bullying or character attacks. Violating comments will be deleted. Please read the post thoroughly and try not to make assumptions about the writer's perspective. Let's start talking!

