Beauty / Video

VIDEO: Create a Sexy, Smokey Eye With Almonds — And Elbow Grease

In theory, this should work.

Ash is black. Ash should be able to become pasty if water is added. Right? I set out to test the idea that almonds could moonlight as eyeliner, and the steps seemed simple:

  • Get an almond
  • Burn the almond
  • Collect the ash on a plate
  • Wet a thin tipped brush
  • Dip into the almond ash to create a paste
  • Paint on the natural liquor eyeliner

The first attempt did not go so well. Meaning, what you didn’t see in the video was my mashing the ash for a good 5 minutes gucamole style. If you try this method, I would recommend burning the almond to create a bit more ash than I did. The ash did not liquefy easily (I was afraid of over saturating it) and painted on chunky. Not cute.

The second attempt went better. Instead of creating a paste, I applied the burnt almond directly to my eyelid. This allowed for a smokier, but thicker, line.

I think for the time it spent to burn the almond and the scratches I felt on my eyelid for the remainder of the day, I will be sticking with store bought brands from now on.

2 thoughts on “VIDEO: Create a Sexy, Smokey Eye With Almonds — And Elbow Grease

Want to join the discussion? Luna Luna encourages well-reasoned, thoughtful, useful, civil, constructive, respectful and intellectual dialogue. That said, we're not into name-calling or bullying or character attacks. Violating comments will be deleted. Please read the post thoroughly and try not to make assumptions about the writer's perspective. Let's start talking!

