Confessions / Society & Culture

The Top 20 Music Videos That Had Me Stuck

I have been watching music videos for a long time but the videos listed here are without a doubt the ones that had me stuck. That doesn’t mean I like the music (some I do and some I don’t) but it was just something about the images; the concept and/or dance choreography that made me say “Wow.” I could seriously write an essay about each one, but instead I will just give you a super quick reason why I chose the video. I hope you will go on YouTube and check out the ones you are not familiar with because, for bad or good, they are certainly unforgettable. They are in no particular order.

1. Thriller-by Michael Jackson
Why: There were b-boy/b-girl zombies, amazing choreography and a sista with the most perfect Jerri Curl fro I had ever seen.

2. Remember The Time by Michael Jackson
Why: Ancient Egyptians are usually not depicted as Black Africans, the choreography was fantastic and overall it was visually stunning. Iman making out with MJ wasn’t cool or believable though.

3. Single Ladies by Beyonce
Why: The choreography was great and the dancers executed it perfectly.

4. Mary Jane’s Last Dance by Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers
Why: This is still one of the craziest music videos I have ever seen. Tom Petty was a necrophiliac and his victim was Kim Basinger. I don’t know how the hell they made that work but it did.

5. Black Hole Sun by Soundgarden
Why: Everything was weird, distorted and creepy but it was super intelligent and fun.

6. Smooth Criminal by Michael Jackson
Why: The choreography was perfection and everyone looked cool.

7. Princes of the Universe by Queen
Why: Freddie Mercury was 100% in the moment and radiated such intensity. The clips from Highlander made everything even more extreme.

8. Breathe by Prodigy
Why: There was a crocodile in someone’s bed and other Dali-ish images. Plus, two weird dudes that looked like they weren’t playing with a full deck but you kinda like them anyway.

9. Losing my Religion by R.E.M
Why: This video is raw emotion. I just wanted to give everyone a hug and tell them it will be okay. Wah!

10. Too Legit to Quit by M.C. Hammer
Why: James Brown looked like a new cast member on Star Trek and Hammer pulled off some very difficult dance moves without breaking a sweat. Outstanding.

11. Like a Virgin by Madonna
Why: I was little when I saw this one on MTV. I didn’t quite understand what she was talking about but I did know she was being VERY naughty acting like a pussycat in a wedding dress. I was swooped up and put in my room but I already heard her moaning Mom, sorry.

12. Flashing Lights bt Kanye West
Why: It was a short story with a shocking ending. Sucks to be that dude. Damn.

13. Bjork by Wanderlust
Why: Most Bjork videos have some kind of impact on me but this one has to be the trippiest. Why is there a purple arm coming out of her backpack? Okay I get it..wait… Do I?

14. Virtual Insanity by Jamiroquai
Why: I wanted to ride on that conveyer belt.

15. Put Your Hands Where My Eyes Can See by Busta Rhymes
Why: I really like the movie “Coming To America” so when he did his own spin on it with himself as the prince I thought it was cute.

17. Jeremy by Pearl Jam
Why: I like the way the look in Eddie Vedder’s eyes seems to shift and change as the storyline progresses. It’s a very disturbing video but extremely well done.

18. The Beautiful People by Marilyn Manson
Why: WTF? OMG! Is it a boy or a girl? eh, it doesn’t matter. He/She rocks…

19. I Wanna Rock by Luke
Why: I heard the word “orgy” before but after seeing this video I had a clear visual of what one might look like. Thanks Luke.

20. Are You Gonna Go My Way by Lenny Kravitz
Why: He was drop dead gorgeous with those beautiful locks flying around and that sexy red outfit. I’ll be honest, only my lust made this one significant.

—-

Tayannah McQuillar is a writer and the Founder of Demimonde Public Relations (www.demimondepr.com) @demimondepr

Want to join the discussion? Luna Luna encourages well-reasoned, thoughtful, useful, civil, constructive, respectful and intellectual dialogue. That said, we're not into name-calling or bullying or character attacks. Violating comments will be deleted. Please read the post thoroughly and try not to make assumptions about the writer's perspective. Let's start talking!

