Happy / Society & Culture

Guide Your Intentions For 2014 With A Word Of The Year

In 2011, my mom introduced me to the idea of choosing a word in the new year to guide your intentions.  She was introduced to this concept by Regina Hamilton of Celestial Insights, an astrologer in Plymouth, MA.  If you’re on the East Coast, you can get in touch with her for a session by e-mail at starqueen15@comcast.net.  I’ve had a session with her before and it was wonderful.

1045207_756193789464_1088530560_n

Me and Mom in 2013

Every year, we choose a word that sums up what we want for the new year.  Whether it’s a personal goal, something you want to remember throughout the year, or just a word that makes you feel good, it’s been a wonderful tradition for us.  I also find that when I reflect on my word for the previous year in December, it turns out to be really meaningful.

My word for 2013 was “grow.”  I wanted to grow into my professional career, grow up a bit as a person and find more emotional independence, and I wanted to grow into my experience of living abroad.  When I consider all that I have accomplished this year, both personally and professionally, I feel really proud.  My other words have been “realize (2012)” and “focus (2011).”

I haven’t yet decided on a word for 2014.  I have a lot of exciting things on the horizon, and I can feel the magic of the new year upon me.  I think it’s going to be an awesome year.  In the past, most of my words have focused on some sort of personal mantra I need to remember.

This is helpful for me, because when I inevitably doubt myself at some point in the year, I can recite the word and reminds me of the great intentions I had for myself.  It helps refocus my perspective.

I invite all of you to take part in what has become one of my favorite mother-daughter traditions.  Choose a word for 2014 and share it in the comments, tweet at us at @LunaLunaMag with the hashtag #Word2014, or e-mail it to me at paymyrant@gmail.com if you’d like to share privately/anonymously.

Your word should be a word that you can own, a word that feels like part of your identity, or a part you want to make shine.  It should be a word that makes you feel inspired.  Finally, it should be a word that can apply to multiple areas of your life.

I’ll tweet my word on New Years Eve, and I invite you all to do the same.

What’s your word?

Image: Christmas Stockings

6 thoughts on “Guide Your Intentions For 2014 With A Word Of The Year

  1. Pingback: My Resolution: Stop Smoking Cigarettes (And Here’s How I’m Doing It) |

Want to join the discussion? Luna Luna encourages well-reasoned, thoughtful, useful, civil, constructive, respectful and intellectual dialogue. That said, we're not into name-calling or bullying or character attacks. Violating comments will be deleted. Please read the post thoroughly and try not to make assumptions about the writer's perspective. Let's start talking!

